The next step…

Despite me starting this blog as a way of keeping friends and family informed of my whereabouts upon moving to Australia three years ago, it continues to evolve and has taken on the sub-headings, “A year without alcohol” and “25 before 25”.

Yet still I find comfort in ‘writing things out’ during the transitionary periods. It’s like having a journal where you’ve forced yourself to edit out the drivel and nonsense.

Three days ago I took a train down to London to try and find somewhere to live. I’m starting a degree in medicine in twenty-five days. Obviously this cannot be the subject of my forthcoming blogs (If you haven’t read Adam Kay’s book; This Is Going To Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor, a. you should, and b. He had to leave the profession of medicine and have a legal team look over every sentence before he was able to publish a single word of that). What I will do, however, is give sporadic updates of things that I’ve learnt – some of them will probably be about myself and thus sickeningly introspective.

Nevertheless, here’s what I’ve learnt so far:

  • London is lovely. But expensive. And enormous. (I knew these things before but looking for accommodation that is half the size and double the price; and having friends who live the best part of an hour and a half away, really solidified this).
  • Often important things take a while, so you cannot rush the process.
  • I’m more of an introvert than I let on.
  • I cry probably once every forty-eight hours
  • I usually cry at really trivial things, and remain far more stoic in important situations i.e. I didn’t cry leaving Manchester, but I will at any episode of trashy tv.

Leave a comment