30 before 30: No. #16 – Repair a bike puncture

It seems I’m currently cherry picking the easiest targets and leaving myself in a real pickle for these last three months of being a twenty-nine year old (oops!)
A reminder of the list:

  1. Learn to ride a motorbike
  2. Go skydiving
  3. Learn how to ski/surf
  4. Eat a vegetable that you’ve grown from seed
  5. Deadlift 100kg
  6. Pay for a stranger’s meal
  7. Swim Boscombe to Bournemouth pier
  8. Learn how to play poker
  9. Do the splits
  10. Have visited 30 countries
  11. Cycle London to Brighton
  12. Go to the opera
  13. Read the bible entirely
  14. Get a tattoo
  15. Sleep under the stars
  16. Repair a bike puncture
  17. Go to a life drawing class
  18. Engage in a clinical trial
  19. Go to Shakespeare’s Globe
  20. Go to an outdoor screening of a film
  21. Sell a piece of artwork you’ve created 
  22. Carve a pumpkin
  23. Do a pull-up 
  24. Go stand-up paddle boarding
  25. Climb the three peaks
  26. Write and record a song
  27. Learn to play chess
  28. Visit someone in prison
  29. Read a famous trilogy 
  30. Become a doctor

You might be surprised to learn that I don’t know how to repair a bike puncture, particularly those of you who know I cycled with my friends around the Netherlands, Belgium and France a couple of summer’s ago. Here’s the amazing thing; I didn’t get a puncture! In fact, of all five of us on the trip, I think my friend Rufus was the only one to have that bad luck.

Nevertheless when my dad told me the cheap run around ‘beach bike’ (i.e. the one we let get all sandy) had a puncture, I jumped on the opportunity.

Do you see the excitement in my face on that last one? Sometimes it’s so satisfying learning something new, even if it’s just something simple. Never underestimate the power of trying new things. As the saying goes, “every day is a school day”.

Leave a comment