Days 154-157: Overview and highlights

So I’m a whole week behind on my blog (this means I have 7×100 words to play around with, but I’ll just do 4 days worth for now so you don’t get too bored!)
A week ago we were in Gili Trawangan, an island near Bali in Indonesia: probably one of my favourite places of the trip so far. By Friday night we were in Singapore and now we’re in Penang, Malaysia. Our trip has taken some different plans to what we were expecting, we flew from Singapore to Penang because the flights were pretty cheap and we have to get to Phuket by August 15th for our flight back to Sydney, I think we would have been fitting too much in to too little time if we’d not done this.
If this trip has taught me anything, it’s that less is more. Less places, more time.
I met with some friends from back home and they just spent 3 weeks in Vietnam, but really explored it thoroughly, and honestly, I think it’s a really good idea.
I tend to be a realist when it comes to my reflections on the world (some people would say cynical), but I know life isn’t just all the smiles and Instagram filters. So, in an effort to be positive, here are some of the last weeks highlights:

image.jpg

Extravagant beaches in Gili (and of course, our tandem ride)

image.jpg
Banana pancakes for breakfast at our homestay

Taking a speed boat that had TVs in it, so watching the film Red, whilst sailing the high seas

Meeting my mum’s best friend’s goddaughter and going for a drink with her, her partner and my two friends on the roof of marina bay sands whilst watching the sun set over the city

Staying at my friends pool house and getting all our laundry done (a real luxury for the average backpacker)

Going to a night safari and seeing all the nocturnal animals
Seeing both Singapore’s light shows, both on the bay and in the gardens, amongst (what we nicknamed) the Avatar trees

image.jpg
Really good Indian food in Little India

Absolutely nailing the MRT system like we’re the locals (and then not…)

Penang’s amazing street art and coffee shops

Playing Me and Bethan’s new favourite game of how much can we get out of our leftover foreign currency coins at the airport

 

Thats all for now. More coming soon.

Leave a comment